Research Help for Teens

Homework Tips

Start your research, and make sure to include a search through the subscription-based databases that the library pays for -- these are good, often peer-reviewed sources you can't access without your library card!
Make sure to understand how to evaluate your resources and avoid plagiarism! Learn how to write a bibliography, and start this at the beginning because it will be much easier than waiting till the end of your project to put it together.
Consult the Writing Tools for the best word use, or how to even get started.

Check this website's Databases page!

When you're doing online research for your writing assignment, you want to make sure that the websites you are consulting are factually-based.

Evaluating Information Sources (UBC) - This guide will help you to evaluate resources you use for research, whether it is an online or print journal article, a website, a book, a newspaper article, or other source that you want to cite.
Evaluating Web Resources (Dalhousie) - A detailed pdf kit.
MediaBias - There's no such thing as unbiased news. But hidden media bias misleads, manipulates and divides us. AllSides empowers you to understand the role media bias plays in the news and information you consume.
- Learn how to avoid plagiarizing other people's work.
SparkNotes Guides- Summaries and insightful critical analyses of English literature, including Shakespeare, along with guides for history, math, biology, and other subjects.
Write a Bibliography - from WikiHow.

Cambridge Dictionary OnlineCambridge Dictionary Online, opens a new window - Find definitions for those tricky words!
Essay Writing Center - Help with essay planning, structure, and basic writing. Has information on types of essays, presentation writing, business writing, and scholarships.
Lexico Dictionary (Powered by Oxford) - Oxford English and Spanish dictionary, thesaurus, and Spanish to English translator. Includes tips for learning English as a second language.
Thesaurus Online, opens a new window - Easily searchable online thesaurus to help spice up your writing.

MediaSmarts - Topics include cyberbullying, cell phones & texting, Internet & mobile, queer representation, and more...

Exam Preparation through Lectures and Readings - As you complete the lecture and reading for each topic in a course, go through this checklist to enhance your learning and begin the process of effective exam preparation.
How to Study Efficiently and Effectively - Covers study schedule, study environment, and effective study strategies.
Improve Your Memory - Sleep, consistent studying, and deep processing. Wait, what's deep processing? Click through to find out.
Reviewing after Lecture - A key step in your regular study routine.

Canadian Career College and Trade School Directory - Lists all of the trade schools in Canada by province.
Canadian Universities & Colleges - Find programs in universities and colleges across Canada.