You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases as well as your 4-digit library PIN number.
Contact your branch librarian if you do not remember your PIN.
EBSCO Reference Databases:
EBSCO is a portal to reference materials that may be difficult to locate through regular internet search engines. It includes access to peer reviewed academic research on a broad range of subjects like: the complete Funk & Wagnalls, New World Encyclopedia, teacher’s materials, business materials, primary school specific materials and many other databases and periodicals.
EBSCO is now offering several services to improve their database and research experience.
- EBSCO Connect: Provides tutorials and support for using the databases. Make a free account to access this support and be able to create tickets.
- Explora – A user-friendly database platform designed with novice researchers in mind. It offers reliable content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.
- EBSCOhost: The platform used for most of the EBSCO library databases below.
Tutorial on how to use EBSCOhost:
A – Z List of EBSCO Databases
Auto Repair Reference Centre – Covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ.
Auto Repair Database Tutorial: 
Business Source Premier – The industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Consumer Health eBook Collection – This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general health topics, including disease such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health.
Consumer Health Complete – Provides information covering a broad range of general health topics, including disease such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health.
GreenFile – Provides information related to all aspects of human impact on the environment, from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Identifies or provides full-text access to scholarly, government and general-interest periodicals and reports.
Periodicals – Search the content of more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc.
Primary School eBook Collection – This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for primary school students. Topics include social studies, history, language arts, geography, culture, math, and science.
Primary School Specific Material – Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Masterfile Premier – Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center– Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered.
Small Engine Database Tutorial:
Other Reference Databases:
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Codes (in Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
BC Access to Historical Newspapers- ProQuest – Anyone in British Columbia or the Yukon with a computer or mobile device can access 125+ years of digital news archives at no charge, remotely, anytime – no authentication required. This online access is made possible through a collaboration of academic, public, and school libraries across B.C. Search nearly 5 million digitized pages of news, ads, images and more that showcase B.C.’s heritage.
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America.
Coursera – Coursera provides universal access to the world’s best education, partnering with top universities and organizations to offer courses for anyone to take, for free
Hoopla – Lillooet Area Library card holders can access over 800,000 movies, TV shows, e-books, audiobooks, comics and music albums for free.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
JSTOR – JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious. We help everyone discover, share, and connect valuable ideas. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes.
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
LinkedIn Learning – Over 5000 on-line courses on a wide range of topics.
Niche Academy – Niche Academy provides hundreds of free tutorials to learn how to use the library’s resources and other online tools.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.