Our databases have information from trusted sources that is typically not available through the Internet.
You’ll need your library card and possibly your 4 digit PIN to log in.
Library Recommended Databases
Business Plan Handbooks
A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
The Small Business Accelerator
An initiative of the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at the University of British Columbia, is curated by professional librarians to help you to research your business idea.
Use this website to write a business plan, gage your growth potential, learn about market trends and to discover new opportunities. If you’re looking for secondary market research to inform your next step – you’ve come to the right place.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning is an online educational platform that helps you discover and develop business, technology-related, and creative skills through expert-led course videos. With more than 5,000 courses and personalized recommendations, you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests.
Business Websites
- Business Plan Handbooks - A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
- Business & Industry - Canada - a wealth of Canadian business information including a variety of guides and information on government programs, services and regulations.
- Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada - includes a vast array of links to web-based resources (including non-governmental sites) relevant to Canadian business people and consumers.
- Small Business Accelerator - curated by the University of British Columbia, SBA features 100+ accelerator guides that teach you how to do market research using free resources, as well as guides to business planning, community networking and finding funding.
- Small Business BC - contains a variety of tools including sample business plans, federal and provincial business regulations, an interactive business planner, downloadable registration forms and much more.
Statistics
- British Columbia Statistics - the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia. They offer data services, business and economic statistics, labour and social statistics, population stats, and survey and analysis.
- CANSIM - Statistics Canada's main socioeconomic database is updated daily and provides access to a public collection of statistical tables covering a large number of topics such as agriculture, construction and housing, demography, education, health, household expenditures, labour, transportation and more.
- DataBC - Provided by B.C. government department, this site contains thousands of data sets on a wide range of topics. Includes a geographic service to help map data, and tools to help conduct research, analyze statistics, develop apps.
- Statistics Canada - The official source for Canadian social and economic statistics and products.
Stock Quotes
- Stockhouse Canada - Get Canadian financial information including stock quotes.